On attitude

 

 

I have a lot of academic requirements to accomplish before this semester ends. With few days left my things-to-do includes: six sunrise papers, one final paper on Population Studies, thesis proposal, pending assignments, two INC’s, and various unresolved issues in the campus.

 

I have many thank-you letters yet to be written and many books remained unopened.

 

I have noticed also that for the past few months, frequently did I not come to class on time.

 

I only got classes in the morning. With the whole afternoon being vacant, I could just look back on how much time I wasted. Being a student council president should not excuse me on not performing well on my academics.

 

The requirements and paper works are now all piled-up, accumulated. Unfinished papers are causing me so much mental stress. There are times that I just stare blankly at the wall thinking what to do next, only to end up doing nothing.

 

The problem? It’s attitude. My attitude.

 

An attitude is a “learned predisposition to respond in a consistently favorable or unfavorable manner with respect to given object” (Fishben and Ajzen:1975). It is how we perceived and act toward people and situations. It is a product of our day-to-day decisions. We make our attitude, and then our attitude makes us. It can also be traced back to the interactions in the social environment one’s into. One’s family and how they are treating him/her, his/her friends, including the socio-economic status, are some contributing factors on one’s attitude.

 

It requires effort and enough motivation for me to develop a good attitude. It starts with becoming aware of what’s good attitude, and followed by endeavoring myself to attaining it.

 

We tend to love or hate one person because of his attitude. We hate arrogant, boastful, selfish, dishonest people. We love those who are seemingly perfect and saintly, caring, fun, generous, helpful, and all with ideal attitudes.

 

There’s a saying “hate the sin, not the sinner”. Can it also be applied to attitudes? Hate the bad attitudes, not the person who exercises it.

 

Can we really separate the two—the sin and the sinner? The bad attitudes and the person?

 

I knew of a man who is an egotist. He loves to show off his skills, and so elevates himself. He loves people to talk to about himself. He endeavors to be famous, should there be an opportunity. With regards to money, however, he can’t be trusted. He speaks bad things behind other people’s back, and seems to be angelic when you’re together. I don’t like his attitudes. Does this also give me license to hate this person?

 

How do I perceive and respond to him would also show my attitude toward people.

 

Attitude is dynamic. It’s a process. One’s attitude today can be changed for the better tomorrow. On the other hand, one’s good attitude today can turn into bad, even worse tomorrow.

 

I have two choices in treating the above-cited person. First, I can see him as he is and so stop talking to him. Why would I talk to a person I dislike? I have lot of things to attend to that I shall not waste my time talking to a non-sensible person.

 

Second, I can see him as what he can possibly be. It is with the hope that he’ll not stay like that and that he would change for the better that I will continue talking to him, giving him encouragements, and wishing him success. I will never give up on him. I cannot give up on him. When we give up on a person, we give up on a divine creation, created in the image of God. It requires daily reorientation for me to see people this way. With God’s grace it can be possible.

 

Can I really hate bad attitudes and love that person at the same time? For this, I should look at myself. I’ve been to doing a lot of foolish things. Can I hate my bad attitudes at the same time love myself also? The answer to this question would determine how I’d treat other people of the same case. “Thou knowest not how long thou shalt keep thine integrity—(Judge not.)All of us are weak and frail; hold thou no man more frail than thyself.”

 

“It’s your attitude, not aptitude that determines your altitude,” says Zig Ziglar. This is not just true to people rising up in the corporate ladders, but also to life’s success as a whole in all areas. It can either make or break a person.

 

In dealing with attitude, we should stop pointing to other people’s bad attitudes, but search within ourselves. With reflection and introspection, by God’s grace we can change our attitudes for the better.

 

The greatest battles in life are not fought in the political arena, or between two people or group of peoples with different advocacies. The greatest battles occur within of each of us. “He who conquers others is strong, but he who conquers himself is mighty.”

 

“Here comes the foe, and the foe is us.” The battle within me on refining my attitudes continues. Complying with all these requirements would be the visible manifestation of my improvement. I have been to many pitfalls, failures both in attitudes and endeavors. I did not give up before. Neither will I now.

 

It may take long but for sure, I’m gonna finish all of these. Yes, even this degree, with perseverance and right attitude.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About bagoy

This is a personal blog of Bagoy. He lives in a peaceful community of Barangay Banate, province of Sarangani, Philippines. He loves to play POG with his nephews.
This entry was posted in Sociology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

