Hello Tawi-tawi

I’m here in a Jollibee store, beside the Yubenco Star Mall in Zamboanga City. This evening I’ll be sailing for Bongao, Tawi-tawi. This is going to be my first time to go to Tawi-tawi. I’m excited.It’s 16 to 18 hour-trip from Zamboanga.I’ll arrive there about 10 am tomorrow.

I’ll be meeting the MSU-TCTO student leaders there.This is part of my duty as President of the FEMSUSSCO, of which I’m enjoying–meeting friends, seeing new places, hearing problems and complaints from the students, having that opportunity to contribute to the solution.

MSU-TCTO has a special place in my heart. Why? Because this is where the former Student Regent and President of FEMSUSSCO came from in the person of Miss Dayang-dayang Khadija Baguinda. She’s responsible on the “rotation system” of the Presidency  implemented in the FEMSUSSCO. The rotation started with MSU-Gensan, which automatically put me in the presidency of FEMSUSSCO, and so represents the MSU students in the Board of Regents. It’s quite a tough job and I’ll have another post for that.

For now I’m excited to see Ate Elena, a friend in the Federation. I’ll not be seeing Miss Baguinda because she’s in MSU-Main campus, working. Rasheed, President of MSU-TCTO and his VP Mads, will fetch me in a while. They also bought me a ticket (cabin), charged to the RATA.

Hello Tawi-tawi! Before I was just reading you in History books or read news about you in the broadsheets. Now, I will shake hands with you, experience you, and enjoy your wonder.

Leave a comment