me

“But what does this have to do with anyone else? Aren’t my own experiences so personal that they might just as well remain hidden? Or could it be that what is most personal for me, what rings true to the depths of my being, also has meaning for others? Ultimately, I believe that what is most personal is also most universal.” – Henri Nouwen, With Open Hands (1972)

 

 

It is with this line of thought that I share my blog. What rings true to the depths of my being may also have meaning for others. I should confess that I’m not confident with my grammar and that I wonder whether my write-ups make sense at all. But it doesn’t matter now. I find satisfaction in expressing myself through words, though sometimes I find it in a sentimental tone. I hate sentimental people. They are pathetic. They love talking about their misery and magnify their failures. This was before. This time I’m trying to see people through grace-full eyes. I remind myself that “there’s always a story behind a story.”

Our society has a very low tolerance to people expressing their emotions. You are dubbed and sometimes ridiculed as “emo” if you’re feeling sad or grieving over something. Why is that? Isn’t it but natural to feel sad at times over a loss or defeat? Probably it’s because we don’t know how to handle sad and lonely people. Perhaps we are in a state of denial: that as we deal with them we realize that it is “us” that we need to deal first.

Writing is a journey. I’m a pilgrim. As I write, I discover not just more ideas but more of myself. Writing brings me to places in myself that I’m not even aware of. Isn’t it exciting? Going to places you’ve never been? In this case, it’s a journey toward within.

I’m still not confident sharing my blog, but I want to learn more. It takes a community to learn. Of course comments are welcome. I’m excited to hear and learn from you.

This is a personal blog.

I’m writing

 

About bagoy

This is a personal blog of Bagoy. He lives in a peaceful community of Barangay Banate, province of Sarangani, Philippines. He loves to play POG with his nephews.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to me

  1. Pingback: Writing as a self-struggle | write anyway

  2. Pingback: Writing as a self-struggle | BAGUIONIVERSITY

Leave a Reply

