Until now

Mourning Captain after losing his son Astinos in a battle against Persians.

I watched this movie last Monday. I was so touched by this scene.

My teacher in NatSci 1 Sir Ramon Eduque recommended this movie about two years ago. He’s one of a kind.I remember he told us that he’s not just teaching NatSci, but teaching life. He’s a story-teller– a raconteur. He shared many inspiring stories. What’s queer is that, everyday in his class one has to render an intermission number whether it’s a song, a story-telling, or just anything. I shared a story in our class. He reasoned that it’s one way of developing self-confidence among his students.

Not until last Monday have I decided to watch this. For those who haven’t seen this yet, you might be wondering what was the Captain’s regret.

What are your regrets?

Have many regrets also but I’ve learned to live with them. In the area of academics, lovelife, leadership. I’ve learned to put those behind. What use there is reliving those moments if it would only cause me sadness. What I can do however is to accept and learn from them, praying that I will never commit the same mistakes again.

Do not dwell in the past. See I am doing a new thing. (Bible)

What are the Captain’s regrets?

I have lived my entire life without regret until now. It’s not that my son gave up his life for his country. It’s just that I never told him that I loved him the most. That he stood by me with honor. That he was all the best in me.

Oh that’s sad.

You don’t have to experience the same. Tell him/her now that you love him/her the most. That you care for him/her. The he/she means to you and that you appreciate his/her presence, smiles, and his kindness. We don’t have all the time in the world. May I have the courage to tell them that I love them. Yes, actions speak louder than words, but actions coupled with words speak the loudest.

It’s not the thing you do, but the thing you left undone.

That gives a little bit of heartache at the setting of the sun.

This day could be happier than yesterday’s Valentine’s. Or you could make happier someone today.

Happy Valentine’s!

 

About bagoy

This is a personal blog of Bagoy. He lives in a peaceful community of Barangay Banate, province of Sarangani, Philippines. He loves to play POG with his nephews.
This entry was posted in Movies, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

