Love Letter

Jenny,

I greet you and kiss you. This is the first time I write to you after our marriage and after you are bearing my name forever. this is why I am at loss as to what I should write? Shall I say I love you, my dear beloved wife? If I say this, it will not suffice to express the reality of the sacred bond that united our hearts even before we saw each other. Then we became united and married, our souls united long before our marriage. I am writing to you now, my love, my hope,my inspiration, my happiness. So long as I live, I shall praise God, the mighty and beautiful, for what he has bestowed upon me. I shall pray to Him to guard you for me, kindness, sincerity, purity and strength of character and belief, chastity of soul and depth of feelings and emotion.

Your husband

*a letter from Anwar Sadat to his wife.

– Jehan Sadat, My Hope for Peace, 2009

Bought this book at the Booksale for Php 35 pesos. It gives me a glimpse on history of the Arab-Israeli conflict, Palestine-Israel conflict, and the efforts done to resolve this. I believe in the two-state solution, where the Israel and Palestine could coexist peacefully within their borders. Mahmoud Ahmadinejad’s call to “wipe Israel off the map” is one of the reasons why the conflict in Middle East will continue. There are extremists who do not acknowledge the possibility of the two-state solution. The “clash of civilization theory” put me in a bias in favor of the Israel, but when we carefully take a look at it, it’s not about religions. It’s about social justice and a nation’s  right to peacefully exist.

Here in Mindanao, I am hopeful that the negotiation between GPH and the MILF will result to a lasting and genuine peace. It requires sincerity from both sides. I believe that Peace in Mindanao is achievable because I’ve seen Moros, Christians, and Lumads interacting peacefully in the University and in many communities. The University is a microcosm of what Mindanao will be: Muslims, Christians, Lumads, live harmoniously with each other. I had my first Moro roommate when I first stayed in the Men’s Dorm Main (room 5). His name is James. Befriending him removed the clutter of biases residing in my mind. I was told in my childhood that “a good Moro is a dead Moro.” That’s a terrific wrong. I had the opportunity to travel to Sulu, Tawi-tawi, Marawi, and Maguindanao. I’ve met wonderful people and friends like Fhaizal, Narrin,Halid, Dang, Midzfar, Nhur-in, Datu, Guiams, Tickee, Duds, Mads, Dayang, and many more. They are kind. I could entrust to them my life. With them around, I could  sleep in these places soundly.  They are peace-loving people. They desire peace above all. I’m hopeful that with these new generation of youth leaders, peace will still prevail in the end.

Lastly, the love letter above is touching. With technology surrounding us, the letter-writing (on a paper) is an art doomed to its extinction. When was the last time you wrote a letter? Let’s start writing one. Express yourself. Write a letter. Godspeed.

P.S.

Congratulations to the success of the Sayaw Pinoy held in the Oval this afternoon. Congrats to the winners, Sir Rhumer and the committee. Happy Kalilangan!

 

 

About bagoy

This is a personal blog of Bagoy. He lives in a peaceful community of Barangay Banate, province of Sarangani, Philippines. He loves to play POG with his nephews.
This entry was posted in Books, Peace, Quotes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love Letter

  1. Pingback: Pro Blogger News

Leave a Reply

