Mastered by few great things

I remember one missionary woman in her thirties. I forgot her name. She belonged to an agency whose task is to translate the Bible to make it available for a specific tribe in Mindanao. She shared to us her testimony, and insights on the book of Romans and its beauty. Tears were welling in her eyes while speaking in the crowd of about twenty people. I could feel her passion and her sense of mission. She wished that this book be also translated hoping that many others will be able to read and reflect on it as she does. She reminded us then that we were lucky having this entire book with us and what a waste it is if we don’t value and make use of it.  She’s still single and I don’t know if she is until now. She’s intelligent woman who dedicated her life on spreading the love of Jesus Christ. I don’t where she is now, and as I remember, I’m praying for her.

I could sense her joy and fulfillment. Seeing this kind of woman reminds me that we don’t have to do a lot of things for us to be successful and be fulfilled. We just have to focus on one thing which we believe is the mission God set for us. What could it possibly be? On which field shall I spend my one entire life. Where could I be most effective? What really is the desire of my heart and what God desires for me?

John Piper has something to say on this:  “You don’t have to know a lot of things in order to make a huge difference for the Lord in the world, but you do need to know a few things that are great and be willing to live for them and die for them. People who make a difference in the world are not people who have mastered a lot of things. They are people who have been mastered by a very few things that are very very great.”

May these “few great things” capture me. Or should I say may a Great Man….

About bagoy

This is a personal blog of Bagoy. He lives in a peaceful community of Barangay Banate, province of Sarangani, Philippines. He loves to play POG with his nephews.
This entry was posted in Quotes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

