Writing as a self-struggle

If I want to improve my writing skills I should put extensive effort in writing a daily journal. I am a frustrated writer. I want to write but it seems when I start pushing down my pen on a blank sheet nothing would ooze out from my mind.
Not even a single idea or thought. This is pity to think that I have read a number of books more compared to a regular student. It’s because of the vacant time I had after failing many of my subjects. I should write more and practice more. Believing that writing can be learned, I should devote my time on it. Doing so would be a good therapeutic exercise and at the same time an opportunity get to know myself better.

In writing, I am having a fellowship with myself: what are my thoughts on a specific issue and what do I know about this. There are many topics that I want to write on. I write to know what is my stand on an issue. I write to learn. I write to share. I’ve learned that the more I share, the more I learn and remember. Quite an irony, but it’s true. The more you give out the more you receive in. Reading and not sharing, I easily forget, but when I talk to people about what I’ve read I remember it better.

You can write.

I have not been into a regular journaling lately. Now I’m reading the life C.S. Lewis, and it challenges me to write more and grow intellectually. It’s on my list to read poetry, Dostoyevsky, Tolstoy, Shakespeare, Milton, Harper Lee, but I couldn’t devote my time on them. These books bore me and does not excite me. I sometimes think maybe they’re not really for me, and that I’m forcing myself to them. Still it’s my desire to explore these books and the classics and learn from them, and hopefully enjoy them.

Write just anything. I should continue to write, not afraid of who’s gonna read. Writing is first and foremost a personal and selfish act. I write to express ideas that are tumbling in my mind which needed to be brought out for me to examine.

Writing is a solitary act. It’s a lonely, yet satisfying experience. It’s joyful. Oh, I should write more. I have learned some helpful tips about writing. First, just increase the pages. Second, write anything. Write your thoughts. Don’t mind about the syntax and grammar. You’ll have all the time to edit and reedit. The most important is you write.

I really wanted to be a writer. The power of a written word is immeasurable. It goes beyond one’s life. But if I’m considering publishing, I should write one which is worth reading. Self-expression is no longer a luxury, but my ability to connect is what I should work on. The key is for me to write and write and write.

It’s a joyful thing to write. Write daily.

About bagoy

This is a personal blog of Bagoy. He lives in a peaceful community of Barangay Banate, province of Sarangani, Philippines. He loves to play POG with his nephews.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

